The Tribulation period

Tribulation is the seven years period that is started by the antichrist's agreement to Israel, offering a false peace, according to Daniel 9:27:

"He will confirm a covenant with many for one 'seven.' In the middle of the 'seven' he will put an end to sacrifice and offering. And on a wing of the temple he will set up an abomination that causes desolation, until the end that is decreed is poured out on him."

Important note: Some translations say "one week" instead of "one seven". See the topic "Why seven years of Tribulation?" to understand why "one week" means "seven years" in above verse.

The Bible names this period as Tribulation. Other names are also named by the Bible to refer to same period:

Some names in Old Testament:

  • The wrath - Isaiah 26:20
    "Go, my people, enter your rooms and shut the doors behind you; hide yourselves for a little while until his wrath has passed by"
  • The wrath - Daniel 11:36
    “The king will do as he pleases. He will exalt and magnify himself above every god and will say unheard-of things against the God of gods. He will be successful until the time of wrath is completed, for what has been determined must take place."
  • The day of vengeance - Isaiah 61:2
    "to proclaim the year of the LORD's favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn."
  • The wrath, day of distress, day of trumpet - Zephaniah 1:15-16:
    "That day will be a day of wrath, a day of distress and anguish, a day of trouble and ruin, a day of darkness and gloom, a day of clouds and blackness, a day of trumpet and battle cry against the fortified cities and against the corner towers."
Some names in New Testament:
  • The distress - Matthew 24:29
    "Immediately after the distress of those days “ ‘the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light; the stars will fall from the sky, and the heavenly bodies will be shaken."
  • The day of the Lord - 1 Thessalonians 5:2
    “for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night."
  • God's wrath - Revelation 15:1 and 15:7, 14:10 and 14:19, 16:1
    "I saw in heaven another great and marvelous sign: seven angels with the seven last plagues–last, because with them God's wrath is completed." (15:1)
    "Then one of the four living creatures gave to the seven angels seven golden bowls filled with the wrath of God, who lives for ever and ever." (15:7)
    "he, too, will drink of the wine of God's fury, which has been poured full strength into the cup of his wrath. He will be tormented with burning sulfur in the presence of the holy angels and of the Lamb." (14:10)
    "The angel swung his sickle on the earth, gathered its grapes and threw them into the great winepress of God's wrath." (14:19)
    "Then I heard a loud voice from the temple saying to the seven angels, “Go, pour out the seven bowls of God's wrath on the earth." (16:1)
  • The great day of the Lamb's wrath - Revelation 6:16-17:
    "They called to the mountains and the rocks, 'Fall on us and hide us from the face of him who sits on the throne and from the wrath of the Lamb! For the great day of their wrath has come, and who can stand?'"

Like Jesus said in Matthew 24:21, this period will be the biggest suffering for the human kind since the beggining of the world:

"For then there will be great distress, unequaled from the beginning of the world until now–and never to be equaled again."
John divided this seven years period into two three and half years period. Within this seven years period, God will send three judgements to earth:

These judgements will be converted into amazing events here on earth, within this period.

<< Previous  

Index of the End Times Study